International Board of Directors

2020 - 2021 ISPE International Board of Directors Election

The ISPE International Board of Directors 2020 Election will open Monday, 10 August 2020. Ballots will be emailed to all ISPE Members eligible to vote.  For more details on the candidates and election process, visit the ISPE International Board of Directors Election page.

2019 - 2020 ISPE International Board of Directors

The Board is responsible for the governance and strategic direction of the Society. The following pharmaceutical industry leaders have been elected to positions on the 2019–2020 ISPE International Board of Directors:


Frances M. Zipp
President & CEO
Lachman Consultant Services, Inc.
Term: 2019 – 2020
Joanne R. Barrick, RPh
Advisor, Global Validation
Eli Lilly and Company
Term: 2019 – 2020
Jörg Zimmermann
Vice President, Vetter Development Service, External Affairs
Vetter Pharma-Fertigung GmbH & Co.
Term: 2019 – 2020
James A. Breen, Jr., PE
Vice President, Lead Biologics Expansion
Janssen Pharmaceuticals
Past Chair
Term: 2019 – 2020
Thomas B. Hartman
President and CEO


Vivianne J. Arencibia
Independent Consultant
Arencibia Quality Compliance Associates
Term: 2018 – 2020 (Second term)
Gunter Baumgartner
Senior Vice President, Head of Global Engineering
Takeda Pharmaceuticals International AG
Term: 2018 – 2020 (Second term)
Scott W. Billman
Global Head of Engineering
Term: 2019 – 2020 (First term)
Chris Chen, PhD
WuXi Biologics (Shanghai) Co., Ltd.
Term: 2018 – 2020 (Appointed)
Ylva Ek
Chief Quality Officer (CQO)
KeyPlants AB
Term: 2019 – 2020 (First term)
Lou W. Kennedy
CEO and Owner
Nephron Pharmaceuticals
Term: 2019 – 2020 (First term)
Stephen C. Mahoney, JD
Senior Director, Global Quality & Compliance
Genentech, A Member of the Roche Group
Term: 2019 – 2020 (First term)
Christine M. V. Moore, PhD
Global Head and Executive Director, GRACS CMC Policy
Merck & Co, Inc.
Term: 2018 – 2020 (Second term)
Alice Redmond, PhD
Vice President, European Operations
Term: 2017 – 2020 (Third term)
Caroline Rocks, CEng
Senior Principal Engineer
AbbVie, Inc.
Term: 2018 – 2020 (Second term)

Ex Officio

LeAnna M. Pearson
Sr. Project Manager
PharmEng Technology
Board Young Professionals Representative (Non-voting)
Term: 2018 – 2020 (Second term)

ISPE is governed by an elected board of directors. The board is composed of fifteen elected members and the CEO & President, who serves as a non-voting ex-officio member. Directors are elected to a two-year term and can serve up to two terms consecutively. All terms commence at Annual Meeting. The officer positions are Chair, Vice Chair, Treasurer, Secretary, Past Chair and the President as a non-voting ex officio member. Terms for officers are one year and the Secretary is the first officer position in the typical officer succession. Each candidate for secretary is typically making a five-year commitment to serve in the roles of Secretary through Past Chair. During the September 2016 meeting of the ISPE International Board of Directors, two important modifications were incorporated into the ISPE Bylaws. The Board approved the appointment of a Director level position to the Board and the current Chair of the International Young Professionals Committee will be invited to board meetings as an ex-officio (non-voting) member as well. The main objective of these appointments was to ensure that ISPE has the appropriate diversity within the Board to execute business strategies as defined in our ISPE Strategic Plan. For additional information on the actions from the last Board meeting or access to governance actions visit the Governance Documents FAQs page.